Extending Our Happily Ever After

"We do! Now let's live healthy and fit!"

Day 9 – 100 Day Challenge

Leave a comment

Fat Tuesday

‘Nuff Said

I started out sooooo well! Packed up my snacks and lunch to take to work and had a plan, which is what I am supposed to do. Took a trip to see what was offered at the bake sale and someone made homemade empenadas.

Well, I faltered. But, I learned a lesson. First, what happened is that the thoughts that I USED to tell myself came flooding back. You know the ones… “Well, I blew it, so now, it doesn’t matter, I can just have a candy bar”. “Or, well, that was lunch, so dinner can be fish cakes (the battered kind that I just don’t eat anymore) and pasta (yep, the carbs that again, I don’t eat anymore)” But, I talked to a friend tonight and she told me that just because you falter at ONE meal, doesn’t mean that your next meal is a bust. Guess what? She told me that I TOLD HER THAT! (OMG!) I totally forgot that I told her that! She told me that she remembers that all the time she falters, because I told her that and it sticks in her mind! (Talk about me feeling humbled!)

Then, I talked to another friend tonight who told me that she gained 40 lbs back from the weight she lost… She and I both lost about 140 lbs and she was telling me how proud she was of what I had accomplished… and here I am having a bad day… well, a bad few days, actually. I mean, I’m no where near gaining 40 lbs, but I truly am a bit off track lately. But, I’m reminded that people are looking to me as a success story and I AM a success story… so I need to get my head back in the game. I’ve come a LONG way and I need to get myself focused again!

I have SO MUCH support and I have so many people who are inspired by the weight I’ve lost thus far. I truly have turned my life around and I am much healthier than I used to be. I won’t go back to where I was before. It was a life of pain, really. I have people who turn to me for advice or just support.

I want to be there for them to lean on, as I know where they are… I am there, too! Often!

Tomorrow is another day… with it’s own struggles and hopefully triumphs. A day for me to prevail and show my strength. I hope!

Author: PennSmiths

We are Marie, 49, and Ivan,58. We used to live on the East Coast and are now living in Southern California. Marie grew up in Southern California and Ivan was born and raised in Kent, England. We met while playing a word game online and Ivan hopped over the pond to marry me. He says that he would have moved to the moon if that was where I resided! We plan on traveling out our days together when we retire... in an RV, but that won't be happening for a while. I have an amazing son, Christopher and he makes me so proud! Our site is www.extendingourhappilyeverafter.com

Leave a Reply

