Extending Our Happily Ever After

"We do! Now let's live healthy and fit!"

Day 6 – 100 Day Challenge

Leave a comment

Hi everyone!

I had such fun today!

We left just after 7 am, which got us in the city just after 9:30 am! I had my Amla powder and grabbed some water and a Greek yogurt for the drive… Ivan grabbed some prunes.

That’s about the extent of my healthy eating! Honestly! I wasn’t even going to think about being healthy today, though. I’ve been good and today was about having fun for us. And about enjoying the food!

We picked up my nephew and his girlfriend at the bed-n-breakfast near Times Square and then drove them down to Battery Park to see Lady Liberty (The Statue of Liberty)… Ivan (my hubby) got out with them to show them how to get around the park to where they needed to see her. I drove with my son, Christopher, around to hang out til they were done and then swing back around and pick them up. The parking garage would have been nearly $17 just for an hour! No way, we just hovered and avoided parking cops for a while! LOL

Then, we found a parking garage in Greenwich Village on 12th Street between 6th and 7th that was only $12 for the day! (There is inexpensive parking in NYC if you only look for it!) We walked to Bleecker Street (our fav!) and stopped into Murray’s Cheese Shop for breakfast. Had a Cheese Melt (basically a grilled cheese)… I gave about a 1/4 of it to my son. It was soooo good. He had a risotto ball (I didn’t try it, but he said it was fantastic!). Ivan had a cheese melt, too! Only $3.99! Then, went to Amy’s Breads and got some Baguettinis for later.

Walked up Bleecker (towards 9th Ave) and went in and out of shops, then stopped in David’s Tea. I had the Saigon Chai (very good and spicy!) for $4, Christopher had the Organic Breakfast with Darjeeling and said it was very good, as well! More shops, in and out…

Eventually, we ended up at the High Line… one of our favorite destinations in NYC! Such a beautiful park… although, at this time of year, it’s a bit desolate looking. However, it’s still a nice way to see the city. Today, honestly, was one of the nicest days in a while… It was chilly, but seriously? It could have been alot worse! It has been super bitter lately and the weather wasn’t at all bad today. The sun was out, the wind was fairly tame. It was bearable! Thank God! With the upcoming storm, who knows what tomorrow will be like or Monday… but today was actually quite nice to walk around the city!

Image

We walked from one end to the other of the High Line, then back to the top of Chelsea Market and then down to the Market itself. Once there, we just went in and out of most of the shops. Also, grabbing a few items along the way. Some candies… but just $1.63 worth of chocolates that Ivan and I shared! I think that is GOOD! Things like Bacon Toffee with Chocolate, or Coconut, Curry Cashews, etc… little bits, just to try! I mean, we had to try! Then in the grocery store there, I finally found some carrot juice, so I bought a bottle of that and Ivan and I shared it. Sweet and very good! Then in the restaurant supply store, I got an orange peeler… just like the one Tupperware sells, although I can’t find mine, so I needed another. We ended up at The Lobster Place and ordered lunch. Christopher and I got the Lobster Rolls and split an order of fries (he had more than half) and he got a nutella cookie (I didn’t). Ivan got the fish and chips. Nephew and his girlfriend split the fresh, steamed lobster and also had some sashimi. Everything was AMAZING and definitely worth the trip! Our lunch was just under $60. A splurge, for sure, but definitely a rarity for us.

Image

Then, we went into another shop and there was this yogurt place in the back (forgot name)… and he sold a probiotic lemonade. Made with whey. Well, I only had my greek yogurt in the morning, so I needed another probiotic, so I ordered it. Well, Ivan and I were ok with it, no one else liked it! LOL And, we honestly didn’t finish it, boy, was it strong!

Image

There is this shop in there that sells Olive Oils and Vinegars… there is this Cinnamon Pear Balsamic that was AMAZING… 200 ml was about $9. We didn’t get any, but we are headed back in April and maybe then… It may call to me in my dreams! Super good. There was a blurb on it that it’s Whoopie Goldberg’s favorite…. (really? Who knows?)

Some cupcake shop on the way out had a chocolate ganache cupcake (small) and I got two, cut both in half and we all tried it.. it had a vanilla buttercream center. Very good! Quick stop into Dickson’s farmstand meats for some smoked ham (for those baguettini’s)… then we were done, it’s about time, right? LOL

I was still yearning for my Crumbs cupcake and hadn’t had it yet…

We headed back to our car to grab my son’s clothes, as we were dropping him off with his dad, who was to meet us in Grand Central. He’s coming home tomorrow (hopefully before it snows)…

So, once we got his bag, we then walked to Union Square to catch the 4 train… Ivan was exhausted, and it was a bit of a hike… Once there, there is a Crumbs bakery just outside. Got my cupcake! It was a Thin Mint Girl Scout cupcake! Chris got one, too. Got Ivan a Carrot one and nephew got a Thin Mint one, too.

Image

back into Grand Central for some last photos and a few hugs. Son with his dad, nephew and his girlfriend off to their next excursion, then Ivan and I heading back to subway to then make last trek to our car. Back to Union Square and a few (literally, about 4) turns back and forth before we were finally headed in the right direction to our car.

We ended up in Tortoria for some chips and guacamole (O-M-G!) Seriously? Best guacamole I have EVER had! Sooooooo good! Literally an impromptu stop because we were looking to use a bathroom before the drive home! Delicious!

Got the car, got on the road… stopped into our favorite healthy grocery store, Fairway in Woodland Park, NJ on the way home… where I got a HUGE bottle of water 1.5 L and some more carrot juice (yay!) and Ivan got some coffee (which is a standard treat for him when we go there).

Got home around 9 pm, which wasn’t bad at all!

Note about day… had alot of fun and realized that if we hadn’t of lost the weight we had and changed our lives for the healthier, there is no way we’d have been able to enjoy a day like today. I was nearly immobile in March of 2012, when I literally could not stand more than 5 minutes! I couldn’t do a shopping trip in Walmart without having to sit down to rest and today, I didn’t need to sit down ONCE! Then with my new hip (I had a hip replacement surgery last May), it’s amazing that I’m walking like I never had a problem, ever! Today was a gift for us both… one that we gave to ourselves… so, with that said… We were grateful for today. It was a blessing! Then, to wrap up our thoughts, spending the day with my nephew and his lovely girlfriend was a treat. They were personable and we all got along so well. We truly enjoyed their company all day and can’t wait to see them again!

Author: PennSmiths

We are Marie, 49, and Ivan,58. We used to live on the East Coast and are now living in Southern California. Marie grew up in Southern California and Ivan was born and raised in Kent, England. We met while playing a word game online and Ivan hopped over the pond to marry me. He says that he would have moved to the moon if that was where I resided! We plan on traveling out our days together when we retire... in an RV, but that won't be happening for a while. I have an amazing son, Christopher and he makes me so proud! Our site is www.extendingourhappilyeverafter.com

Leave a Reply

