Extending Our Happily Ever After

"We do! Now let's live healthy and fit!"

Easter Weekend… blow out!

Leave a comment

Well… wow! Talk about derailment.

I think I have had more carbs than I have had all year long! Probably more bread just in the past weekend than I’ve had all year long, as well! We went into NYC for the weekend… visited a few bakeries… had some cupcakes (well, 1 HUGE one and a half of one that I split with my husband).

Basically, we started our day at Crumbs bakery and each (hubby, myself and my son) had a Canoli Cupcake… where you not only get that HUGE cupcake, but a canoli sits right on top of it! That was in Times Square. We did start our day there… so that was basically breakfast! We walked from there to Macy’s, about 10 blocks? Saw the flower show going on at Macy’s Herald Square… BEAUTIFUL! Then, took subway to Chelsea Market… then walking from that point on.

Image

Walked to Bleecker Street and that was another bakery, for a roll and a sourdough twist for my son and I and two hot cross buns for my husband… then another bakery for that 1/2 a cupcake and a mini cupcake for my son. Lunch for my son was a slice of pizza and Ivan had a potato roll at an Indian restaurant and I had a veggie plate at the same restaurant (chickpea saag w/lentils and naan, didn’t eat much of the rice that came with it and left alot of the lentils… but ate ALL the saag, loved that!). Then we walked all the way to Ground Zero and saw the Freedom Tower.

Image

Walked back up to Greenwich Village later for dinner… where hubby and I split a hamburger and fries and I had water. All and all, maybe we didn’t do that bad… We did alot of walking.

I just think that the types of food we ate, when we aren’t used to eating breads and sweets, is what I’m feeling more than the quantity of what we ate, ya know? We are so used to eating alot of food, but it’s more fruits and vegetables, nothing quite so heavy.

We even got a walk in yesterday… less than 2 miles, but it was something. Had such a great weekend, though. Sun was out and so many New Yorkers were, as well… It was the first real feeling of Spring in the air. This was Saturday. Yesterday… not so much, the Sun was hidden by the clouds again and then it rained in the afternoon again. But, Spring is trying to break through! I, for one, can’t wait! (I know I’m not the only one!)

Author: PennSmiths

We are Marie, 49, and Ivan,58. We used to live on the East Coast and are now living in Southern California. Marie grew up in Southern California and Ivan was born and raised in Kent, England. We met while playing a word game online and Ivan hopped over the pond to marry me. He says that he would have moved to the moon if that was where I resided! We plan on traveling out our days together when we retire... in an RV, but that won't be happening for a while. I have an amazing son, Christopher and he makes me so proud! Our site is www.extendingourhappilyeverafter.com

Leave a Reply

