Extending Our Happily Ever After

"We do! Now let's live healthy and fit!"

This is my lifestyle now (but, I am finding it a bit hard to give up EVERYTHING)

Leave a comment

I’m actually finding all of this quite easy now. I have a routine, a schedule. I wake up and the lemon water is what I crave. It’s what I reach for and it starts my day off. 

My days at work are still my easiest… the routine there are just so matter of fact and really on point with the timing, so I’m eating every few hours with snacks and proteins and all of it… even getting up quite frequently for water breaks, so I’m getting my activity in as well. 

When I get home from work, I get in my exercise, which usually is minimum of 30 min, but is usually an hour. I have been doing the Leslie Sansone walking tapes, which I frequently switch up, sometimes using ones where she highlights the hand weights, or the stretch bands or even the boosted walks. I’ve even started grabbing my “bean” (if you remember those from the infomercials from a few years back) and doing some ab/core workouts as well. Then I heat up or cook up some dinner and watch a bit of television or work on my book or blog, then its off to bed (OR, I’m running my teenage son around who has quite the busy life himself as he’s in a few theatre productions which are just ramping up into performance weekend modes)… 

My weekends are a bit more sporadic, but I’ve been trying to get even them into some sort of a routine where I try to get the grocery shopping done very early, the exercises done by 5 pm’ish, so that I can maybe cook something nice for dinner and even do a bit of prep work for some meals for the week (hugely helpful for my lunches and snacks for work week). Then I like I get a bit of tv or movie watching in, as I am a bit of an addict in that department. 

Ya know, they say that one thing overweight people have in common is a HUGE amount of tv watching… many hours. Well, it’s sadly true for me as well… and it’s one of the things that I’m finding it hard to give up… I even find that when I’m online, I open up a window with netflix or hulu just so I can try to multi-task and still get it in… or if I’m REALLY backed up on my tivo, sometimes I even say goodbye to Leslie for a bit and figure that since I’ve been watching her for MONTHS, I figure I have a fairly good handle on her moves by now, so I’ll watch something and just MOVE MOVE MOVE while watching my shows and glance at the clock and then just stop moving when I feel I’ve gotten enough movement in… it’s pretty pathetic, I think… Just when I used to dread the holidays, or the mid-season there-just-isn’t-a-damn-thing-to-watch weeks, now, I think, whew, I can exercise, cook, catch up, but OMG, then it’ll start again and what’ll I do???? lol My name is Marie and I am a TV Addict.

Author: PennSmiths

We are Marie, 49, and Ivan,58. We used to live on the East Coast and are now living in Southern California. Marie grew up in Southern California and Ivan was born and raised in Kent, England. We met while playing a word game online and Ivan hopped over the pond to marry me. He says that he would have moved to the moon if that was where I resided! We plan on traveling out our days together when we retire... in an RV, but that won't be happening for a while. I have an amazing son, Christopher and he makes me so proud! Our site is www.extendingourhappilyeverafter.com

Leave a Reply

