Extending Our Happily Ever After

"We do! Now let's live healthy and fit!"

Losing weight this time has truly been fun… Never thought I’d say that!

Leave a comment

Image

 

I truly never thought I’d find this a FUN journey but that’s what it’s been.  It’s also been a learning one!  When I first decided to REALLY give this weightloss a go, I knew that I’d not just give it another attempt… I would put 150% into it.  I was only getting older, and I had 212 lbs to lose.  That was a huge amount and life was ticking away.  So, this was IT!  Daunting, yes, but I was never afraid of a challenge and this was going to be one of the biggest in my life.

Thankfully, I’m a pretty strong person.  I like being focused, I like making lists.  I am made for this type of challenge and if I did it right, I could really excel at it.  Not only that, but I had a loving, supportive husband on my side this time.  I was going to not only do it for myself but I was going to help him, too.  I’m going to feel a sense of accomplishment for us both.  

I found a great food plan that worked for us both (Thank God!) and it really started clicking for us.  Not only did the weight start falling off, but we started loving how we were feeling.  We were doing it together, too, so that was a bonus!  The benefits we were experiencing… snoring was lessened or gone, blood pressure was dropping, cholesterol levels were dropping, my swollen ankles were losing their edema, the soreness in my back was going away, sizes were dropping (we were donating clothes to Salvation Army daily and our house was getting decluttered)… I mean, it was FUN!  

There was a time of a kind of a weightless anticipation…  When you are as big as I was (377 when I started), you have to drop about 50 lbs before much is noticed, you kind of just push and push and WAIT… that was a bit of a get up, do the time, go to bed, wake up, weigh in, do it again, go to bed, wake up, weigh in, go to bed, etc… and just WAIT.  That’s a bit of waiting and alot of willpower.  I talked to myself alot (telling myself that I was doing ALL the right things and the scale was going down, even if I couldn’t SEE it yet)… and was very happy to have Ivan to look at and see results on him (leaner frame)… if I didn’t have him to look at and get excited about, then it might have been a bit less fun for me, but I did have him there… and it saw me through til I got past my 50 lbs and then MY RESULTS started to become a bit more visible… then MY joy started shining through a bit more… 

Once I started to get compliments, that helped alot.  I alluded in another post of mine to my vanity.  I think every woman would lie just a bit if she said she didn’t like to get compliments.  I mean, it sometimes is a bit uncomfortable to hear them sometimes and get all that attention (for some… not me… lol) but I LOVE all that encouragement and only wanted to hear it more.  So that really kept me going… and kick started me into the next 50 lbs of losing.  

I broke my losses into chunks of 50 lb losses… 212 lbs into four chunks of 50 lbs.  I knew that the first 50 lbs would be less noticeable and would be my most difficult, mentally.  Figured that I needed to set that as a goal and not make it any smaller.  For me, 50 was small enough, yet large enough to be what needed to be done to get to the next chunk of noticeable loss.  Also, knowing that once I hit that first 50, I could just tell myself that wow, I just did that… now do it just 3 more times! LOL  Manageable!

Next 50.  This would be the one where I figured most people would be really standing back to take notice… and I was right… this is where they were like… “Did you get a haircut?” lol  But, it was fun, They KNEW I did something and started to really take notice.  I was seeing a different profile at this point and it was something that even my husband and I remarked was hard to get used to, after 10 yrs of seeing one profile.  We’d stand next to each other in the store and look past the other looking for the other one… lol  It’s amazing what the mind gets used to.  He and I had changed so much by this point.

After losing 100 lbs, I was onto the next chunk of 50 lbs (where I am now)…  As of this morning, I’m 126 lbs into my journey.  I started exercising once I dropped 36 lbs, and once I lost 122 lbs, I started adding major toning to my schedule along with the cardio I’ve done all along.  I have 86 lbs left to goal and this is a huge transformation I’ve taken on.  I’m excited to see all that I can do to change my body.  I’ve already done so very much.  I’m not just working til I hit my goal.  I know that I’m going to continue on past my goal.  I figure that after I hit my goal, I’ve got body sculpting to do and I’m learning as I go.  

Another thing is that I’m also working with an injured body.  I have lost tons of flexibility throughout the years.  I have an appointment with a physical therapist on the 25th of this month and I’m so excited to see if there is anything I can do to gain back anything… even if there isn’t (but, I sure hope there is)… I’m going to try.  I’m like the energizer bunny!  I won’t give up and I’m going to keep on learning and working with what I’ve got!  

Author: PennSmiths

We are Marie, 49, and Ivan,58. We used to live on the East Coast and are now living in Southern California. Marie grew up in Southern California and Ivan was born and raised in Kent, England. We met while playing a word game online and Ivan hopped over the pond to marry me. He says that he would have moved to the moon if that was where I resided! We plan on traveling out our days together when we retire... in an RV, but that won't be happening for a while. I have an amazing son, Christopher and he makes me so proud! Our site is www.extendingourhappilyeverafter.com

Leave a Reply

